Brazilian Chapter

Art. 1. Mission

The aim of the Brazilian Chapter is to pursue the mission of ICON•S within Brazil. The Chapter is established in order to:

  • Promote the mission and the values of ICON•S. In particular, the commitment to an inter-disciplinary approach to public law that engages constitutional, administrative and international law scholars and practitioners so as to better understand global and transnational legal developments;
  • Promote knowledge of public law and membership in the organization;
  • Encourage the engagement of junior scholars with ICON•S’ activities, and foster the development of transnational collaborative research projects involving Brazilian scholars of public law, especially involving other scholars from the Global South;
  • Transparency, accountability, diversity and gender equality and in governance;
  • Cooperate with, while remaining distinct from, existing national and regional organizations;
  • Regularly disseminate notice of its events and activities via ICONnect and communicate an annual summary of its activities to the ICON•S Executive Committee;
  • Promote joining ICON•S and paying the ICON•S annual membership fee;
  • Submit to ICON•S information on the Chapter activities, which will, where appropriate, be featured on the ICON•S website.

Art. 2. Governance of the Chapter

Two co-chairs, who will make decisions by agreement, will govern the Chapter. The co-chairs may consult the Advisory Board before any decision.

The identity of the co-chairs and the composition of the Advisory Board shall reflect the chapter’s broader commitment to gender equality and diversity, including regional and institutional diversity within Brazil.

Only ICON•S members can be co-chairs and join the Advisory Board. Each year, the two co-chairs will communicate an annual summary of their activities to the ICON•S Executive Committee, to the Chapter’s Advisory Board, and to the members of the Chapter.

Art. 3. Co-chairs

The two co-chairs will hold office for three years, with the possibility of one re-election. The two co-chairs will be elected by majority vote from among the members of the Advisory Board. The co-chairs may appoint in agreement a Secretary, who will serve for a one-year term.

The two co-chairs must have different institutional affiliations, and will preferably not be of the same gender.

Art. 4. Advisory Board

The first thirteen members of the Advisory Board will be distinguished scholars of public law. Two new members will be appointed to the Advisory Board every year after the establishment of the Chapter, for up to three years, until the Board reaches the size of nineteen.

Membership on the Advisory Board will be based on excellence in public law scholarship. Candidates will be approved by the co-chairs, in consultation with the current Advisory Board members, for a term of four years that may be renewed only once. The number of members on the Advisory Board shall not exceed nineteen.

Art. 5. Rights and duties of all members

All members of the Chapter as well as of the Advisory Board have the following rights and duties:

  • Join ICON•S and pay the ICON•S annual membership fee.
  • Promote the mission and values of ICON•S.
  • Participate in the activities of the Chapter.


Art. 6. National conference

The Brazilian Chapter will organize at least every two years a national conference, based on a call addressed both to junior and senior scholars. For the purposes of organizing this conference, establishing partnerships with existing national and regional organizations will be encouraged.

The annual conference will be held during a different month than that in which the ICON-S annual meeting is held, preferably before it, and the Chapters will encourage scholarly publications that result from the national conference.

The national conference will rotate cities every two years.

Art. 7. Working groups

In consultation with the Advisory Board, the co-chairs may establish working groups of the Chapter to organize events and activities.

Art. 8. Amendments

The Chapter rules can be amended by a majority vote among the members of the Advisory Board.


Estefânia Maria de Queiroz Barboza (Federal University of Paraná; Centro Universitário Internacional) (2019-2022)
Diego Werneck Arguelhes (Insper – Institute for Education and Research, São Paulo) (2019-2022)  

Executive Secretary

Thomaz Pereira (Fundação Getulio Vargas Law School in Rio de Janeiro) (2019-2021)

Advisory Board

Camila Villard Duran (University of São Paulo) (2019-2023)

Daniel Wunder Hachem (Pontifical Catholic University of Paraná; Federal University of Paraná) (2019-2023)

Diego Werneck Arguelhes (Insper – Institute for Education and Research) (2019-2023)

Eduardo Jordão (Fundação Getulio Vargas Law School in Rio de Janeiro) (2019-2023)

Emilio Peluso Neder Meyer (Federal University of Minas Gerais) (2019-2023)

Eneida Desiree Salgado (Federal University of Paraná) (2019-2023)

Estefânia Maria de Queiroz Barboza (Federal University of Paraná; Centro Universitário Internacional)

Jane Reis Gonçalves Pereira (State University of Rio de Janeiro- UERJ) (2019-2023)

Juliano Zaiden Benvindo (University of Brasília) (2019-2023)

Marta Machado (Fundação Getulio Vargas Law School in São Paulo) (2019-2023)

Thomas Bustamante (Federal University of Minas Gerais) (2019-2023)

Thomaz Pereira (Fundação Getulio Vargas Law School in Rio de Janeiro) (2019-2023)

Virgílio Afonso da Silva (University of São Paulo) (2019-2023)

Juliana Cesario Alvim Gomes (Federal University of Minas Gerais) (2020-2024)

Gabriel Marques (Federal University of Bahia; Baiana Law School) (2020-2024)