Citizenship and Nationality: Cyprus

The Republic of Cyprus was founded on bi-communality: it is a unitary state with a single citizenship, but citizens are divided on into two communities, a Greek and a Turkish. The constitutional breakdown of 1964, the Turkish invasion of 1974, and the subsequent refusal of the Turkish community to participate in the institutions of the state have given rise to a number of unique problems of citizenship and nationality. Turkish Cypriots remain citizens of the Republic of Cyprus, a state that many of them refuse to recognize, while at the same time residing within a political entity that the international community does not recognize. The interplay between citizenship and national descent in the peculiar situation of Cyprus offers an ideal case study for exploring the concept and boundaries of citizenship and its relationship to the concept of nationality.